Making Homeschool Fun

February 27, 2012

Creative Lesson Plan on Adjectives: Adjective Burger

Adjective BurgerNext in our adjective lesson plan, we made adjective burgers. This lesson is fun, if i do say so myself. =D Plus, my kids said so, so it must be kind of true.

I cut out the pieces of a burger. You know, meat patty, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and so on. For the bun, i cut out a bun (figure 8) out of thin cardboard. An old cereal box works well. Then i folded it and stuffed it with the burger and toppings. On the top of the bun, i wrote, “My Adjective Burger” and drew some sesame seeds. I placed the Adjective Burgers in a sandwich bag… just because it’s more fun that way.

I gave my girls the burgers and asked them to describe each topping with an adjective. I asked them to be creative with it. The were not permitted to just write “red” on the tomato, “green” on the lettuce, and “yellow” on the cheese. I was looking for adjectives like “juicy,” “crisp,” and “yummy.”

You can read more about the lesson on my web site, PoeticLotion, and even find free printables for the burger toppings.

1 Comment »

  1. This is adorable! What a fun way to teach this concept.

    Comment by thatwritinglady — March 4, 2012 @ 2:38 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

